Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Leaves and Trees

I am so happy to post for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Leaves and Trees as I have a chance to ‘show’ my photos life of leaves and trees around my garden. Some of them have certain use in daily life (for cooking and drinks).

20140510-050006.jpg

Pandan leaves (Pandanus amaryllifolius) is usually used in cooking for its special fragrant and as natural food colouring (green).

20140510-050046.jpg

Daluman (Balinese language) or Cincau hijau (Indonesian) or Cylia barbata is creeping  plant that leaves can be used to make delicious drinks. Squeeze some handfuls leaves with water, strain it and leave for awhile until it forms jelly-like substance. Enjoy it with coconut milk and palm sugar syrup. In the market, it is IDR 40.000 ($ 4). No, I don’t sell my daluman leaves. I was just giving you an additional information.

20140510-050130.jpg

Kayu Manis (Balinese) or daun Katuk (Indonesian) or Sauropus androgynus. Popular leaf vegetable. To reduce my feeling of guilty when I’m having a bowl of instant noodle, I usually toss some of this to the pan a minute before it is done. Yum!

20140510-050220.jpg

Don Base (Balinese) or Daun Sirih (Indonesian) or Piper betel. In Bali, it is used for some of religious ceremony purposes. Chew one leaf and it will freshen and give fragrance to your mouth.

20140510-050302.jpg

The two mango trees in my front garden. O2 providers, heat protection and fruits suppliers! You can ‘enjoy’ its fresh succulent product in here.

20140510-050331.jpg

Tiing (Balinese) or bambu (Indonesian). There are many kind of bamboos in Bali, but we like this yellow bamboo, as it is said can bring luck to the owner.

20140510-050407.jpg

Palm leaves. Actually, it was the red dragonfly, made me wanted to take a shot.

20140510-050618.jpg

Jangar ulam (Balinese) or daun Salam (Indonesian) or Syzygium polyanthum. Popular in Indonesian cooking to give wonderful aroma, suitable for steam food, soup with meat as the main ingredient. It is similar to bay leaves, I think.

20140510-050653.jpg

This herb is becoming difficult to find these days. Luckily, the sapling of two years ago grows prettily well in the pot. Tenggulun (Balinese) or daun laksa (Indonesian) or Proticum javanicum. Same use with daun Salam. I put both in for my cooking, to enhance its delicious fragrant.

 

3 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Leaves and Trees

Leave a comment