Yes. I Believe in Karma

This just in: let’s pretend that science has proven that karma is a thing. Your words and actions will influence what happens to you in the future. How (if at all) will you change your ways?

DSC03060

No. Science doesn’t have to prove anything about karma to me. I. do. believe. in. karma. Karma is a Sanskrit word means action, work or deed. Here, in Bali, we adopt the great concept, too. It is about a cycle of cause and effect or a ‘universe system’ of what you will get is what you have done. As in Indonesia we have a proverb: siapa menabur angin akan menuai badai that has a very similar meaning to you reap what you sow. That’s the concept of karma. As we (read: the Hindu) also believe in samsara or reincarnation, we also believe that our karma in previous life can bring effect to ours in present life. The same cycle goes as well to your next life.

Too, complicated? Or unimaginable? I myself can’t think of my next life. I should just focus to my life now and how I treat my karma. For what I am is the result of what I have decided to think, to say and to do in my life.

I always try to act good. Notice the verb ‘try’, I realize it doesn’t work well all the time. But, at least, if I can’t act good to people or other livings, I don’t hurt them.

Join DP Prompt: Karma Chameleon

A note: that beautiful flower picture above is for you, as your karma for being nice to come and read my post. :).

10 thoughts on “Yes. I Believe in Karma

  1. I have very similar ideas in that karma doesn’t need to be explained, however thinking about it now I believe it CAN be explained by psychology. If you think about it if you do good things and others observe that then they are more likely to give good things towards you then if you were a jerk. Just a thought. Good post I enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s an interesting thing the karma, I just hope science doesn’t discover anything about it as it’s more beautiful and magical the way we know it. We don’t know much about karma in my culture, we only say you harvest what you planted. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

