Pisang Goreng (Banana Fritters)

20140406-073448.jpg

Breakfast or snack? You decide. Pisang goreng suits both.

Pisang goreng (Banana fritters) is a good way to vanish the stack after we celebrated a religious ceremony. As I said in my previous post, banana plays important role in our offering. Pisang goreng is easy to make and quick. Biyu Dang Saba or Pisang Kepok (in bahasa) or plantain is a nice type for pisang goreng. It has high level of starch and less sugar which will give crispier texture.

20140406-073615.jpg

Biyu Dang Saba (similar to plantain)

Secret ingredients…actually there’s no any secret ingredient in my kitchen’s dictionary. I’m using instant coating flour (for banana fritters), couple of banana, and cooking oil (I use palm oil).

How to make:

  1. Slice banana lengthwise into 2 (it depends to your like)…and have I told you, peel it first?
  2. Coat sliced banana with the instant flour nicely. Put in the fridge for about 15 minute, so that the flour doesn’t fall off once you put into the hot pan. If you don’t have that luxurious time in your life, you can skip the fridge thing.
  3. Heat the cooking oil in a pan.
  4. Deep fried coated banana until golden brown.
  5. Pour it with honey, condensed milk, topping jam, or plainly just the way it is lifted out of the pan.
  6. Serve with a cup of coffee/tea/hot chocolate or whatever drink comforts you.

Note: Some people make batter by adding water or milk. But, I prefer coating my pisang goreng dryly. Just because I like that way.

20140406-073518.jpg

20140406-073542.jpg

20140406-073644.jpg

A Banana tree (my neighbour’s)

11 thoughts on “Pisang Goreng (Banana Fritters)

  1. This is interesting. We also have banana fritters here in the Philippines but instead of flour, we cover them into spring roll wrappers and also add a slice of jackfruit inside. We call it “turon” here, but we also call plantain “saba”. Maybe I should try this recipe so I can have banana fritter Indonesian style. 🙂

    Like

  2. You should try this, Wax. Do they have instant flour for pisang goreng in Philippine? :). Wrapping banana with spring roll. That’s classified as modified pisang goreng here. Instead of jackfruit, we use sliced chocolate or cheese or both! Yum! Thank you for your info, Wax.

    Like

  3. Pingback: (Sunday) Sweets & Smiles: One | Wax's World

  4. So incredible to have bananas growing fresh in a nearby garden! This is just the inspiration I need to make some nice hearty treat as the weather here is a bit gloomy. I am going to use some coconut oil to fry and I have all the other ingredients so I’m good to go. Thanks Ida.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment