EF#10: Balinese Grilled Chicken

When it comes to (favourite) food. I can’t choose one. Don’t make me. I just can’t. One simple Indonesian food I love is Nasi Goreng. But, for today’s post I’ll post one food that relates close to our Bali traditions. It is ayam panggang or grilled chicken. A whole chicken, from head to toe using heat of fired coconut husks and shells. You can use charcoal or put the chicken in the oven, but the taste will be different. You will loose the beautiful aroma of the coconut element.

DSC01972

Grilled chicken in a Balinese offering. We eat the grilled chicken after we have conducted our religious ceremony.

bumbu pedas

Ingredients for the grilled chicken sambal/hot-spicy paste.

Food will not food without any (hot) spices. Red chillies, eye birds chillies, garlic, shrimp paste, kaffir lime and (of course) salt. Firstly, cut those spices. It will be easier to be handled. Right? Then, pan fry all spices without oil (except the kaffir lime). Once it is already cooked. Pound it with a traditional pestle into a paste. Squeeze the kaffir lime to the mashed spice and add some coconut oil to moisten it.   It is called sambal terasi (Indonesian) or sambal sera (Balinese language). Take a clean whole chicken. Smear the paste all over it. Then, grill it. Until cooked.

Enjoy it with warm steamed rice and the remaining sambal.

Join an event hosted by BEC (Blog English Club), the English Friday (EF#10-Weekly Challenge): What is Your Favorite Indonesian Food?

6 thoughts on “EF#10: Balinese Grilled Chicken

  1. Lovely article ❤ I adore balinese food too! I recently went on holidays in Bali for the first time and I had the chance to discover this beautiful country and its flavory cuisine… I had the chance to try Nasi Goreng and other great dishes, see the list in the following post http://helloworld-blog.com/2015/02/01/wheter-you-favour-sweet-or-savoury-bali-is-the-key/
    My accommodation was situated in Canggu and I must say I had a lovely time there and felt in love with its beautiful landscape, its people and its culture!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment