Pilly and Javanese Fried Noodle (with recipe!)

IMG_0820

I made a stuffed animal, drew the pattern by myself confidently, traced it to the fabric scraps, cut them out and patiently assembled part by part. My first time made a soft doll, our neighbour’s daughter has her first son, so I wanted to give him a toy to be snuggled with.

“A cute pig!” My husband complimented it.

“Pig? I wondered. “But, it was intended to be an elephant!”

“Well…” He suddenly ran out of words and said things no more, a cautious man to keep away from potential dangers.

“Ibu. It is more looked like a mouse”, my second daughter put the visual condition into words clearly (and bravely).

IMG_0819

We named the stuffed ‘hybrid’ animal as Pilly, a combination of a pig and elephant and gave it as a gift to our neighbour. Avoiding further misconception of the craft, I informed the parents right away: “It’s an elephant. I made it by myself”.

Meanwhile, the sweet little guy couldn’t recognize the difference anyway, either it was a pig, elephant or a mouse, he was only 1 month old.

Compensated my less successful crafty time, I got myself busy in the kitchen, making Javanese Fried Noodle. Why is Javanese? Because it is spicy and sweet with thick sauce covers the noodle. It needs candlenut for the spice. Here it is the recipe (it can be adjusted to your own taste buds and what you kind find ingredient in the fridge, feel free to be creative).

IMG_0700

JAVANESE FRIED NOODLE:

Spice:

  1. 5 shallots
  2. 3 cloves of garlic
  3. 1 red chilli
  4. 2 bird eye chillies
  5. 2 candlenuts
  6. 1 tsp of salt
  7. 2 tbs of sweet Indonesian kecap
  8. 1 tbs of oyster sauce
  9. 1 tbs of tomato sauce
  10. 1 tbs of chili sauce (at this point, probably you would ask yourself: chili? Again? Right. That’s the way I cook in my kitchen. You can adjust it to your preference).
  11. 2 tbs of coconut oil
  12. 2 tbs or more of water

Ingredients:

  1. One package of dried noodle (220 gr as it is read in the package), boil it until cooked and drain it off, to stop it from being too soft you can pour the hot noodle with cold water (already in the strainer) and remove all of the excess water.
  2. A half of carrot (sorry, I don’t measure its weight), cut it like matches sticks or in a more professional cooking talk, julienne the carrot.
  3. Bok Choi/ Chinese cabbage/ Cabbage, cut it evenly (not too big or small)
  4. 1 Spring onion, chopped
  5. 2 chicken eggs (make into scrambled egg first).
  6. A handful of peeled shrimps.
  7. One fourth of whole chicken breast, dice it.
  8. Chicken sausage/ fish balls/ chicken meatballs, slice it.

How to make it:

  1. Ground number 1-6 spice into paste.
  2. Use a wok or a pan. Heat coconut oil, put the paste into the wok, cook it until fragrant, add chicken and shrimp, stir it until changed colour and cooked, add the sliced sausage/ fish balls/ chicken meatballs.
  3. Add the vegetables and the water, cook it.
  4. Pour the rest into the wok, boiled noodle, scrambled egg, Indonesian kecap, oyster and tomato and chili sauce. You probably need 2 frying shovels. Because it will be thick and you have to mix it thoroughly.
  5. Serve it immediately.

Note:

  1. Actually, I use 1 frying shovel and 1 fork.
  2. You can use any meat or vegetable you have in your fridge…I have already told you that? I’m sorry, I become a little bit disorientated.
  3. If your cook is not as tasteful as it is expected. Don’t blame yourself. Don’t even blame me. Try again. We learn from mistakes.

Posted to DP Prompt: False.

6 thoughts on “Pilly and Javanese Fried Noodle (with recipe!)

  1. Pingback: The Nudge Wink Report – A Round Up Of The Weirdest & Funniest News Headlines This Week Ending 9th July 2016 | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

