The Red Gate of My Griya

20140407-163636.jpg

This is the traditional gate of my home town griya (house compound) Cebaang in Gianyar. Protected by two guardian statues with a door that is painted in red and gold sculpture. Inside the gate is not just one house, but consists of some that built a griya for a big family. In the old time, lived my grandfather’s family, including his cousin’s family and his second cousin’s family (!!). When I said big family (it means literally). I was born in Denpasar city and live there. However, this red gate with its ancient art represents a precious meaning. It is where my root comes from. I am of griya Cebaang, Gianyar descent. A post to DP Photo Challenge: Descent

6 thoughts on “The Red Gate of My Griya

Leave a Reply

